Fishbowls

Wow.  A couple of stories over the last week have just blown me away and made me SOOO happy that I don’t have people peeking into my personal life 24/7.   I also cannot believe that the media finds it necessary to place emphasis on such ridiculous stories.                                 First I read about “OUTRAGE” created by Kate Middleton for wearing the same jeans and dress more than once on her North American trip.  What a travesty!  I mean seriously, this is news?   I really and truly find it appalling that this poor girl is being criticized for something as ridiculous as that.  What has our society come to that we now need to chastise someone for being so bold as to wear the same article of clothing more than once in public?  And, pardon me, but just to point out a little interesting tidbit here, aren’t all the summer issues of the fashion magazines always focused on “5 Essential Pieces to Pack in Your Suitcase” or “Packing for Jetsetting Fashionistas”?  It really blows me away that someone like Kate Middleton – a real-life princess, now married to one of the world’s most eligible bachelors – just can’t win.  Something as trivial as wearing the same jeans more than once has actually made the news.

The other story that I shake my head at is the fact that our First Lady actually consumed a burger, fries, and a shake.  What has this world come to?  A human being treated herself to fast food?  Maybe this calls for an impeachment trial.  OK, OK, maybe I’m stirring the pot here, but I’m not trying to start any kind of talk about Obama or any of his political agendas.  Yes, Michelle is pushing for better health and fitness in this country.  And I could understand if she was eating fast food every day.  But she’s caught with ONE fast food meal at a new place she wanted to try?  And this creates a story that hit the Web faster than a speeding bullet?  The Washington Post even posted then re-calculated how many calories she consumed in that meal.  Wow.  I wonder how many of those reporters can fit into Michelle’s wardrobe?  Or how many of them have a healthy cholesterol level or even attempt to exercise daily?  I know, I know………she’s a public figure, practice what you preach, blah blah blah.  But seriously, what have we come to that eating a fast food meal (like 150 million people in this country probably do daily) has to create such a “controversy”??????                                                                                                                                       I’m sure glad I don’t live in a fishbowl.  Now I’m off to slip into yesterday’s jean shorts and have a bagel with cream cheese for breakfast.

Leave a Reply

