Fallin’ for Fall

Wow!  I can’t believe it has been almost three months since I’ve visited my blog.  One of my co-workers was giving my blog some props today and I started feeling badly that I’ve neglected it.  So, I’m back……..for now.

It’s been a superchaoticandnonstopbusy couple of months that have passed.  School started again (for 3 of us in this house) and that pretty much threw everyone into a tizzy.  I’ve been teaching fifth grade for the past couple of years, and this year, my school’s administration decided to throw the fifth grade team into the middle school mix.  Am I happy about teaching 3 fifth grade literature classes and 2 sixth grade literature classes?  Yes and no.  The planning is easier and I get to see my old kiddos from last year whom I love.  BUT…….teaching for 5 straight hours with n’er even a bathroom break is E-X-H-A-U-S-T-I-N-G.    Not crazy about the shortened periods either.  I just can’t truly share my love of reading in 45 minutes, 5 times a day, to 5 different classes.  I do really like reading the sixth grade stories.  They really get introduced to some wonderful concepts of literature.  It’s exciting to see the growth of my students from last year.  I think today I made one boy’s day when I told him how impressed I was with his plot graph.  He just positively lit up.  Those are the moments that make me remember why I picked teaching as a career.  I never thought I’d like working with this age, but I really do……..I’m so blessed to work with a wonderful group of students at my school.  When I see the the behavior problems and lack of motivation other teachers have to deal with, I thank God that I teach where I do.

In other news……….we started a new therapy regimen with M.  We finally went ahead and started ABA therapy.  For those of you who don’t live in Holland (here’s a link to the poem that refers to), ABA is a very intense therapy that addresses certain behaviors and helps to correct them and make them more socially acceptable.  It looks at weaknesses and helps to strengthen them.  We have a therapist at our home 5 days a week for 2 hours at a time working one-on-one with M.  Unfortunately, due to a snafu in our insurance, we are on “hiatus” from therapy for a few weeks.  (Gotta love those 3rd party providers!)  But M adores his therapist and we are glad we finally took the plunge to get this in place.

C is having a good year in school.  His teacher is FABULOUS and we are thrilled so far.  Second grade is a big step up from first grade, but he needs that challenge and he is rising up to it.   He’s doing amazing on his baseball team this season with Daddy as the manager once again.  My only trouble with C right now is a situation that was created by none other than yours truly.  M Senior got an iPhone 4 over the summer, and I took his old iPhone 3G (temporarily), and passed along my iPod Touch to C.  In the words of Julia Roberts in Pretty Woman “Big mistake…………HUGE”.  Between using my iTunes password without permission (thus forcing me to change it to something which includes a NEW capital letter and numeral), whining that he doesn’t get to play on it very long on baseball nights, and unplugging my near-dead phone to charge it, I am ready to toss the thing (which was a Christmas gift to ME) off of a 10 story building.  I finally broke and grounded him from it for a week.  Ahhhh…….technology.  (RIP Steve Jobs…….even with all my iPod fighting, you were an innovator and you’re gone too soon.)

One more little anecdote that I must include as I wrap up this epistle………..this past Sunday, M was in a noisy, loud,  whiny mood and I put him in his room for a nap (he woke up about 5 AM).  I locked the door from the outside and continued making my grocery list and clipping coupons.  Suddenly, I looked up and out of my back sliding glass doors, see that M is running around in the backyard.  Every door in the house was locked to the outside.  Well, I entered his bedroom to find the window open and the screen pushed out.  Now I understand the fun that Harry Houdini must have put his mother through.  So after a brief visit to Home Depot, the problem has been rectified.

My principal selects a new “theme” each school year and for 2011-2012 he selected the theme “No Ordinary Day” (also the title of a  Christian song).  That theme is fitting for my home this year also………..and probably next year……..and the one after………

Leave a Reply

