I get by with a little help from…………

I don’t know what got me thinking about it this morning, but I was pondering all the little things in life that I look forward to and that are my little day-to-day “survival tools”.  Some people get by with alcohol, cigarettes, etc………..not me.  The stuff that keeps me sane are arbitrary in the eyes of other people, but without them, life would be a lot sadder for me.  Here’s a list in no particular order of the trivial things in life that make me happy:

1. Popcorn.  Seriously.  I could eat it every day and never get tired of it.  When I was a little kid, my dad would take out the big oil popper and make a huge batch and all of us would crowd around the TV and watch “The Love Boat” or “Dallas”, and a few times a year, we’d sit with our popcorn and watch whatever Charlie Brown holiday special was on.  It’s just one of those things that is my comfort food and makes whatever show I’m watching that much better.   I actually have designated nights when popcorn is a necessity – one is Tuesday nights because “Glee” is on, and the other is now Thursday nights when “The Big Bang Theory” is on.  I also tend to throw in other nights when Mike is out with his buddies (and I don’t have to share) and weeknights when we don’t have plans.  I actually use the big oil popper myself now………I’ve gone through about 10 of them since I graduated college.  The same big, dome-shaped, West Bend Stir Crazy popper.  Can’t imagine life without it.  And, sorry to say, microwave popcorn just DOESN’T cut the mustard, right there with any popcorn brand that isn’t Orville Redenbacher.

2. Nail polish.  Yes, if you know me at all, you already know this……..family, co-workers, friends, Facebook pals……it’s an addiction.  My collection is now into 3 digits. I have ordered polish and nail art supplies online, been put on beauty supply store waiting lists, driven to the indoor flea market (where I am the youngest person around by a margin of about 50 years), and can even identify brands and shades other people are wearing.  Yes, it’s a sickness.  Time Magazine actually has a blurb in it this week about how nail polish “is the new lipstick” with sales up 54% over last year (that’s probably due to me in large part).  Ever since 7th grade when my English teacher had her long red nails with the gold theatre masks embedded into the tips, I have loved having my nails painted.  Now I like to do them myself; it’s relaxing for me.  Plus it’s one girlie thing I get to do on a regular basis being the only female in my house.

3. The Big Bang Theory.  If you haven’t seen this show yet, do yourself a favor and tune in.  You won’t be sorry.  I have not belly-laughed at a show like this since Seinfeld.  Jim Parsons deserved those two Emmys…………Sheldon is the funniest character; every line from his mouth gets a laugh.  And by the way, even though the producers have outright denied it, Sheldon has Asperger’s Syndrome.  To be able to get a good laugh about something so difficult is really refreshing.

4. Broadway musicals.   During high school, my dream was to play any female part in “A Chorus Line” on Broadway.  I wanted to be a gypsy; living in a  sublet-ted apartment in New York City with dance tights drying all over the 200 square foot space I’d share with about 6 other roommates.   All I wanted to do was be out on that stage dancing.  But, 25 years (and a lot of common sense) later,  just going to see the shows is good enough for me. My grandmother was a theatre lover and I thank her for sharing that with me.  I can’t really explain what it is about those corny songs and dance numbers that draws me in………….you either get it or you don’t.

Anyway, I thought I’d do a silly blog………I had a tough day at work and this was a way to fill my head with a few little pleasant thoughts.

One thought on “I get by with a little help from…………

  1. Love the blod, crushed you didn’t ask me about my nail polish yesterday. It’s a new OPI shade, but however, at my age, without the “readers” I can’t see the name of the color and have no idea. Great day with you yesterday! xxx

Leave a Reply

